Skip to main content

Public Proceedings

Webcast Roundtable: Structure of Policing in Nova Scotia

September 8, 2022 9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

To listen to live audio from the proceedings, call 1-877-385-4099 (toll-free) and enter code 1742076, followed by the # sign.



  • Roundtable: Structure of Policing in Nova Scotia
    • Members include:
      • Chief James Butler: Mr. Butler is currently the Chief of Police for the Kentville Police Service and has been in this role just under 1 year.
      • Mr. Harry Critchley: Mr. Critchley recently graduated from the Schulich School of Law and he is now an Articled Clerk in the Dartmouth Criminal Office at Nova Scotia Legal Aid.
      • Ms. Hayley Critchton: Executive Director of Public Safety and Security Division, acting in the role since May 2021 and permanently appointed November 2021.
      • Ms. Heidi Marshall: Co-founder of the Jane Paul Indigenous Resource Centre in Sydney, NS, which is the only centre east of Montreal specifically for Indigenous women in high-risk situations, living off-reserve.
      • Dr. L. Jane McMillan: Dr. McMillan is Chair of the Department of Anthropology, and the Special Advisor, Indigenous Research and Learning Partnerships, at St. Francis Xavier University.
      • Retired Deputy Chief William Moore (O.O.M.): Mr. Moore is presently the Public Safety Project Lead at Halifax Regional Municipality. He was formerly the Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and previous to that was the Deputy Chief of Police in Halifax.
      • Dr. Scot Wortley: Dr. Wortley is a Professor in the Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies at the University of Toronto.
    • Participant Representatives - Afternoon Session
      • Ms. Hayley Crichton, Executive Director, Public Safety and Security Division - Nominated by: Department of Justice Nova Scotia
      • Ms. Dawn Ferris, Executive Director, Autumn House
      • Kristina Fifield, Trauma Therapist, Avalon Centre
      • Dr. El Jones, Assistant Professor, Mount Saint Vincent University - Nominated by: BC Civil Liberties Association & East Coast Prison Justice Society
      • Ms. Mukisa Kakembo, Elizabeth Fry Society of Mainland Nova Scotia - Nominated by: Elizabeth Fry Society of Mainland Nova Scotia
      • Insp. Kurtis Kamotzki, District Policing Officer in H Divison - Nominated by: Department of Justice Canada
      • Mr. Hubert Martin, Nova Scotia H-Division South West District - Nominated by: National Police Federation
      • Mr. Steve Mills, Retired RCMP Officer - Nominated by: RCMP Veterans

Visit the Roundtables webpage to learn more about the core themes of the roundtables and the members participating.


  • Share your suggestions for change to help inform the Commission's final report and recommendations to help make our communities safer.
  • Visit the calendar for the proceedings schedule.
  • View the documents section for Research, Foundational Documents and Additional Exhibits that are entered into evidence during proceedings.
  • To learn more about the Commission's third and final phase of work, visit the frequently asked questions page.
  • All timing, agendas, format and schedules are subject to change and will be updated here as required.


View Transcript

Content Warning: The following video contains scenes including the discharging of firearms causing death. There is a “quick exit” button at the top of the website if you need it, and Wellness Supports are also listed.

Some of the information within this website may be disturbing or upsetting for some visitors. This website deals with information about events that include gun and other violence, including gender-based violence and intimate partner violence. If you need to leave at any point, there is a “quick exit” button at the top of the website. This website also includes some suggested resources, should you be in need of support.

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to help improve your experience while using this website. By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to this use of cookies. Read more about cookies and other information in our Privacy Policy.